The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

What sort of government rules the Galaxy?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> General Star Wars -> What sort of government rules the Galaxy? Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mikael Hasselstein
Line Captain
Line Captain

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 3:39 pm    Post subject: What sort of government rules the Galaxy? Reply with quote

I'm a political scientist that studies international governance. As such, I think its an interesting question to ask what sort of government are the Old/New Republic and the Galactic Empire, and what sort of RW models might be analogous.

It strikes me that the New Republic (just after the Rebellion Era) is one that is like the UN with ambitions of being like the EU. It pretends to be able to provide security for the Galaxy and have a comprehensive scope. It would also like to facilitate an open trading system.

The Empire, on the other hand, is more like Nazi Germany in Europe - a totalitarian hegemon with brutal military enforcement.

But what was the Old Republic? Was it like the UN, with a meaningless talking shop in the General Assembly (ie. the Senate)? Or was it more like the EU with extensive institutional arrangements that, to a large extent, determine laws on the different worlds (or, member states, in the EU's case)?

Or are American parallels more apt: the New/Old Republic like the Articles of Confederation with the Empire more like the Northern occupation of the South in the late 1860s and 1870s... (except, of course, with tons of slavery, rather than the reverse)?
Mikael Hasselstein
Line Captain
Line Captain

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote