The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Damage
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules -> Damage
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sepherin
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 6:45 pm    Post subject: Damage Reply with quote

could someone help me with the damage system in the game...me and my friends play but aren't sure how it works still.

I understand how to get damaged/deal damage...it is the wound levels thing that confuses me for example.

if i deal 3 damage to npc 'x', then x is stunned...then say next turn i deal 2 damage to npc 'x'...is he stunned again? since 0-3 is stunned? or is he wounded since he has taken a total of 5 damage...I would think that he is wounded, but, it says in the rule book that when a character takes a level of stuns equal to his str. he is knocked unconscious...well if my char would have a str of say 5, that would mean he could never be knocked unconscious by stunning blows. Also what would happen if someone is wounded once, then gets hit for 1 damage? is he wounded twice? or is he wounded once and stunned?. If he is wounded twice, then what happens when if he takes another 1 damage? is he immediatly incapacitated? or , since he isn't out of the wounded levels yet, does nothing happen?...

this is very confusing to me because this is the first solely d6 based game i have ever played, i am more used to DnD, and Whitewolf...
Back to top
Crell Damar
Line Captain
Line Captain


Joined: 31 Jul 2003
Posts: 845

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A. if you deal 3 damage to npc 'x' and then 2 he's stunned twice, which would be -2d from all checks for 2 rounds, unless he only has a 2D strength in which case he's knocked out.

as for the character with 5d str, he can be knocked unconcious from stuns, but it'll take 5 before he's KOd

you never add up the actual damage that you do to a person, you simple add up wounds... see the penalties from wounds and stuns and what not also play a part in the next time a character is attacked and damaged, that's why they worked it that way... i think i explained it as best as i can, but if you need me to explain it further, then just ask Smile maybe the other guys can help out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sepherin
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, thank you this is actually helping very much Very Happy. I only have a few more questions then.

A character can be stunned as many times as you get a stun roll for his damage, I understand that now (thanks again)

What happens if a character is wounded and then stunned? Does he get a -1 from the wounded, then another -1 from being stunned, but only for 2 turns?

What happens if a character is already wounded twice and get 'wounded' again? Does he get an effective wounded 3x and a -3 to all action?

If a char is stunned, and then stunned again the following round is he at -2 for that round?

I thank you so much for your helpful replies, this is going to make gaming with my friends so much easier when it comes to damage.
Back to top
sepherin
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh, sorry another question.

I know that if you take stun damage equal to your str you are knocked unconscious. But say you have a str of 2 and are wounded twice passing the stun level. Does your character go unconscious? or do you only go unconscious from stun damage?
Back to top
Loc Taal
Grand Master (Admin Emeritus)


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 800

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's an excerpt from the free "Star Wars Roleplaying Game, Second Edition Revised and Expanded" pamphlet:

"A wounded character who's wounded a second time is 'wounded twice'. A character who's wounded twice falls prone and can take no actions for the rest of the round. The character suffers a penalty of -2D to all skill and attribute rolls until he is healed. A wounded twice character who is wounded again is incapacitated."

The rules don't specifically state what happens when a character is wounded and then stunned. I guess it's open to interpretation. I think that the character would suffer the additional penalty (-2D total penalty: -1D from the wound and -1D from being stunned) for 2 rounds. When the two rounds are up, the affects of being stunned would go away but he would still be wounded (-1D total penalty from the wound). I think if a character with 2D strength is wounded and then stunned, they would be knocked unconscious for the 2D minutes.
_________________
"Mind what you have learned. Save you it can." --Yoda

The original RANCOR PIT archive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crell Damar
Line Captain
Line Captain


Joined: 31 Jul 2003
Posts: 845

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

exactly, that was what i was trying to say
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Volar the Healer
Jedi


Joined: 04 Aug 2003
Posts: 660
Location: Arizona, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2003 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree exactly.
_________________
Know Jesus, Know Peace.
No Jesus, No Peace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


v2.0