The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Really simple question
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules -> Really simple question Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ankhanu
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral


Joined: 13 Oct 2006
Posts: 3089
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, for whatever reason, that's not covered in the rules anywhere, to the best of my knowledge.

I've done it both ways, but tend towards just totalling the modifier rather than converting to dice; it's faster and simpler. I haven't noticed any major differences in terms of the "power level" of either method.
_________________
Hotaru no Hishou; a messageboard about games, friends and nothing at all.

Donate to Ankhanu Press
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
cheshire
Arbiter-General (Moderator)


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 4866

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And the only guy who has thus far said anything about it being answered officially thinks that he read it somewhere... or maybe that other place... or maybe by Eric Gibson... or WEDGE... or someone.

Kinda like that verse in the bible that someone says they KNOW they read it somewhere sometime and they just can't find it right now.
_________________
__________________________________
Before we take any of this too seriously, just remember that in the middle episode a little rubber puppet moves a spaceship with his mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Quetzacotl
Commander
Commander


Joined: 29 Jan 2013
Posts: 281
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, probably because there does not exist any answer officially ^^

I would just go with the "adding directly" approach without convertig +3 to +1D and so on. As already mentioned by several people here, it's much faster that way ^ ^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuclearwookiee
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 171

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

garhkal wrote:
nuclearwookiee wrote:
The only thing I found that is interesting isn't necessarily on point. But on p. 84 of the 2R&E, when discussing the effects of a Force Point on melee damage, the examples doubles a strength score of 2d+2 and gets 4d+4, rather than 5d+1.


But that is flat out doubling the score, not adding them together..


Right, which is why I said it's not exactly on point. It proves that (2d+2) x 2 = 4d+4, not necessarily that 2d+2 + 2d+2 = 4d+4. But then, doubling a number is just adding that number to itself . . .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheshire
Arbiter-General (Moderator)


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 4866

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quetzacotl wrote:
Well, probably because there does not exist any answer officially ^^



How dare you question my vague notions with no substantiation! Smile
_________________
__________________________________
Before we take any of this too seriously, just remember that in the middle episode a little rubber puppet moves a spaceship with his mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TyCaine
Captain
Captain


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 515
Location: Florida, US

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quetzacotl wrote:
And thats why I said, that rolling them seperately with just one wild die and adding the results, it's exactly the same as just "adding them directly", so there is no real need to roll them seperately here (because, as you said yourself, rolling 3D+2 and 1D+2 and adding them together is the exact same thing as simply rolling 4D+4).

Maybe I'm just nit-picking here, but I wanted to avoid the confusion ^^

Agreed, I think I was getting confused... Smile

And yes, I was rolling them separately but adding directly works exactly the same as you pointed out, and it's fast to add them up that way.

Quetzacotl wrote:
I would just go with the "adding directly" approach without convertig +3 to +1D and so on. As already mentioned by several people here, it's much faster that way ^ ^

Agreed from here! Smile



T.C.
_________________
"For every person with a spark of genius, there are a hundred with ignition trouble."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Red 331
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 215
Location: Nebraska

PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheshire wrote:
I can look at my WEDGE files later and see if it actually came from an official source.


Wow - Cheshire, did WEG post info on their old web page? I never checked the web page when they were still in operation. If there's anyway you could provide access to some of the old web page Star Wars material, that would be awesome!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 14359
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked on the Holonet for this question, and someone replied that it IS in the rule book.. but you have to go all the way back to looking in a 1st edition one for it. And that rule he said is that 3d+2 + 1d+2 would be 4d+4.. not 5d+1.
_________________
Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TyCaine
Captain
Captain


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 515
Location: Florida, US

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

garhkal wrote:
I checked on the Holonet for this question, and someone replied that it IS in the rule book.. but you have to go all the way back to looking in a 1st edition one for it. And that rule he said is that 3d+2 + 1d+2 would be 4d+4.. not 5d+1.


Yup, thanks for that direction! Found it in the First Edition Rules Companion:

Quote:
In play, though, multiple pip modifiers never round up to dice. A character can roll 4D+6, for example, depending on combined actions and other modifiers. When rolling actions during the game, never increase the pips to dice.




T.C.
_________________
"For every person with a spark of genius, there are a hundred with ignition trouble."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 14359
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problems..
_________________
Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheshire
Arbiter-General (Moderator)


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 4866

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Red 331 wrote:
cheshire wrote:
I can look at my WEDGE files later and see if it actually came from an official source.


Wow - Cheshire, did WEG post info on their old web page? I never checked the web page when they were still in operation. If there's anyway you could provide access to some of the old web page Star Wars material, that would be awesome!


Well... WEDGE central was a little different than an official WEG site. WEG didn't seem to get with the whole program until late in the game. Somewhere around 99 or 2000 they got their own site, and by that time there wasn't anything to do with Star Wars.

Some official writers did post some things on WEDGE, but it wasn't anything that was official published. Though you can find a Schweighoffer article or two still on there.

http://web.archive.org/web/20000424181229/http://rpg.net/wedge/index.html
_________________
__________________________________
Before we take any of this too seriously, just remember that in the middle episode a little rubber puppet moves a spaceship with his mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nuclearwookiee
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander


Joined: 28 Nov 2011
Posts: 171

PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nuclearwookiee wrote:
garhkal wrote:
But that is flat out doubling the score, not adding them together..


Right, which is why I said it's not exactly on point. It proves that (2d+2) x 2 = 4d+4, not necessarily that 2d+2 + 2d+2 = 4d+4. But then, doubling a number is just adding that number to itself . . .


I know this thread is a few months stale, but for any who still care, the other day I did run across an example of dice addition, rather than a Force Point doubling, that results in a total that doesn't round up to the next dice.

On p. 83 of 2ER&E, top of the second column gives an example of adding a combined action bonus of 2d+2 to a base skill of 4d+1 for a total of 6d+3 (not 7d+0).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerrod Owex
Sub-Lieutenant
Sub-Lieutenant


Joined: 26 Apr 2013
Posts: 56
Location: Iowa, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 02, 2013 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phalanks Balas wrote:
well D6 system is based on the foloowing rule : 1 pip + 1 pip + 1 pip = 1D
So I thing 3D+1 + 1D+1 = 5D+1


I mean no offense but I'm lost in the math here. Shouldn't it be (3D+1)+(1D+1)=4D+2, as there are only two pips here and four dice?

As for the OP i have no idea, been quite some time since i read over the rules but this is a good question and also one of some importance as far as official things go, you could do it however you feel it works best though, that is always the default if you can't find something, the GM makes a ruling and that's the way it is done from then on, unless the GM finds said thing and decides to do it that way from then on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DougRed4
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral


Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 2295
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2013 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good catch, Jerrod.

I agree with you about the GM, but I find it is best for the GM to write these things down, if only for the purposes of consistency.
_________________
Currently Running: Villains & Vigilantes (a 32-year-old campaign with multiple groups) and D6 Star Wars; mostly on hiatus are Adventures in Middle-earth and Delta Green
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
griff
Captain
Captain


Joined: 16 Jan 2014
Posts: 508
Location: Tacoma, WA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm bringing this one back because I have an opinion.

A character with STR of 2D+2 wearing scout armor of +2 would roll 3D+1. The armor stat clearly states that the armor stat is in pips. So it adds to the dice pool.

If the bonus is not stated as a pip then just add the bonus to the dice roll.

If Die codes are added together 3D+2 plus a 2D+1 that would be a total of 6D.

All pips are created equal and are added to Die Codes in an equal manner, IMNSHO (in my not so humble opinion).
_________________
"EXECUTE ORDER 67. Wait a minute, that doesn't sound like order 67..... No, wait. Yes, yes it does. EXECUTE ORDER 68" Palpatine's last moments - robot chicken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


v2.0