View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
CRMcNeill Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 16406 Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bren wrote: | The first says, nothing will stop me from my duty - though I will pay a price sometimes. The second just says - I'm a PC and I'm too bad to take damage from blasters. Yech. :( |
That's true, but the situation changes if you downgrade the power of FPs, as you have suggested and which I agree with. If the Jedi can no longer use a FP to double all dice rolls in a round, but can only focus on a single action, and can only spend one FP per round, he can no longer double the Control roll for Control Pain and the Control and Sense rolls for LSC. He has to pick one or the other... _________________ "No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
garhkal Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 14359 Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 1:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So rather than leave it as is you have to make 2 rather big changes, one to FP spending and one to this power to make it how you envision.. _________________ Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
CRMcNeill Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 16406 Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As an alternate possibility, perhaps a Jedi could only use this ability as a reaction skill if he spent a FP. _________________ "No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
garhkal Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 14359 Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 6:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Would that FP still double his control roll?? _________________ Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
CRMcNeill Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 16406 Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
garhkal wrote: | Would that FP still double his control roll?? |
I'm up in the air about that. Alternately, he could spend a CP instead of a FP, since CPs have a much narrower effect than FPs. _________________ "No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
garhkal Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 14359 Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So like drop a CP for a chance at rolling it... _________________ Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
CRMcNeill Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 16406 Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2011 11:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
garhkal wrote: | So like drop a CP for a chance at rolling it... |
Yeah. I'm on the fence as to whether it should be a FP or CP, because the cost seems too high for one and possibly too low for the other. I remember reading something similar in the D&D Psionics Handbook where if a character spent extra psi-points on a power he could use it as a swift action (which IIRC, bore a lot of similarities to reaction skills). _________________ "No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Naaman Vice Admiral

Joined: 29 Jul 2011 Posts: 3190
|
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 2:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
I put things like that in my house rules all the time: alternative uses for character points during play.
It's not unheard of in the RAW, either. I believe it is the enhance attribute power that allows expenditure of a CP to extend the duration an additional round? Also, Reduce injury/ transfer force requires the sacrifice of a FP to prevent death.
This version of control pain could easily fall inline with as a "watered down" application of the same aspect of the force as reduce injury. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
CRMcNeill Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 16406 Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.
|
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Naaman wrote: | This version of control pain could easily fall inline with as a "watered down" application of the same aspect of the force as reduce injury. |
Me likey. I had honestly forgotten about the CP rule for Enhance Attribute, but it is nice to know there is precedent for something like this. _________________ "No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
garhkal Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 14359 Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.
|
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hows about make it
Stun = 1cp
Wound = 2cp
Incap = 3cp _________________ Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
CRMcNeill Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 16406 Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.
|
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 1:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
You're already having to roll increased difficulty just to get Control Pain to work against damage of that level. I think a 1 CP cost is an appropriate expenditure for the speed of the action alone (i.e. bringing it up as a reaction skill). _________________ "No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
garhkal Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 14359 Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.
|
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Would they be able to spend it if they are already on a FP for the round?? _________________ Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
CRMcNeill Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 16406 Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.
|
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
garhkal wrote: | Would they be able to spend it if they are already on a FP for the round?? |
If FPs are using the RAW rules, then no, probably not (if they are doubling all dice rolls for the entire round, why would they need to?) However, if the game is using alternate rules for FPs (like Bren's suggestion of limiting FPs to a single skill or action), then I might consider allowing the character to spend a CP, but with the stipulation that it can only be used to allow the character to make the appropriate skill roll as a reaction. _________________ "No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cheshire Arbiter-General (Moderator)

Joined: 04 Jan 2004 Posts: 4866
|
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In the RAW it states that you cannot use a FP and a CP in the same round in terms of increasing die rolls. I'm not sure that they meant that you could not spend a CP in order to activate a Force power. Indeed, if you look at the words and take them as universal statements, it seems to say you can't, but such an interpretation doesn't gel well with the context. _________________ __________________________________
Before we take any of this too seriously, just remember that in the middle episode a little rubber puppet moves a spaceship with his mind. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
CRMcNeill Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 16406 Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.
|
Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
cheshire wrote: | In the RAW it states that you cannot use a FP and a CP in the same round in terms of increasing die rolls. I'm not sure that they meant that you could not spend a CP in order to activate a Force power. Indeed, if you look at the words and take them as universal statements, it seems to say you can't, but such an interpretation doesn't gel well with the context. |
True. And even if it were an absolute statement, the RAW is more what you might call guidelines than actual rules... _________________ "No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|