The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Hit location, and armor
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules -> Hit location, and armor Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Snapshot
Cadet
Cadet

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:21 am    Post subject: Hit location, and armor Reply with quote

I'm new to the d6 system and I'm a bit uncertain about some of the mechanics of combat damage.

If you don't use hit locations in your game, how do you handle armor that doesn't cover all body parts (eg., a flak jacket that gives +1D to the torso only)?

If you allow called shots on hit locations, do you find your players call "head shot" a lot since the penalty is only +1D (REUP edition)? +1D while target shooting seems plausible; in the heat of battle, I don't know...
Naaman
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One way you could resolve this issue is to use the random hit locations; however, I find that to be a little bit too artificial.

You could rule that since body armor is designed to protect the most vital organs, that a shot is always assumed to hit the armor (giving the target the benefit of the doubt) unless the attacker accepts a difficulty increase to call a shot.

As for a +1D on the difficulty level for a head shot, I give the defender a +10 bonus on their dodge roll (or raise the difficulty by +10 if the target isn't choosing to dodge) anytime the shooter calls a shot to any location as specific as the head; and it's an all or nothing affair (they hit the head or they miss the character all together--there is no "you rolled high enough to hit the torso but not the head").
garhkal
Sovereign Protector
Sovereign Protector