The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

House Rule Play Test
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> House Rules -> House Rule Play Test Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dph
Lieutenant
Lieutenant

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2017 1:05 am    Post subject: House Rule Play Test Reply with quote

Hi folks

I’ve been GMing SWD6 for over 20 years now and I think it still stands up pretty well as is!
But… Even though I don't really like heavy house ruling, there’s a few things I’ve always thought could be done differently, particularly concerned with streamlining a few convoluted mechanics in an otherwise 'free flowing' rules set.

I'm going to play test them with my latest campaign but I thought I'd share my house rules here and invite anyone to comment!
I’ll revisit this thread with an update in a few months after I’ve had a chance to play these things out.

RAW = (rules as written)

Skills
Removing Advanced Skills
Dex
Move Beast riding from Mech
Combine Melee Combat & Parry
Combine Throw and Grenade
Str
Rename Athletics (combining Climb/Jump and maybe swim?)
Rename ‘Lift’ to Brawn or something that is more of a catch all for it’s multitude of uses.
Combine Brawl Combat & Parry (from Dex)
Kno
Add Navigation and use for Astrogation (from Mech) which you can take as a Spec
Combine Business and Value
Mech
Combine Rocket and Jet pack
Make Swoop Operation a Spec of Repulsorlift.
Tech
Combine First Aid and Medicine
Combine Droid Programming/Repair
Other Possibilities
Combine Starship and Space Transport Piloting?
Combine Starship and Space Transport Repair?
Combine Star/Capital Ship Repair and the respective weapon Repair?
Bowcaster becomes a Spec of Blaster?

Stun Damage
I find it’s too easy to KO an target with a weapon set to stun.