The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Melee combat against Stormtroopers
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Gamemasters -> Melee combat against Stormtroopers Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Purzelkater
Ensign
Ensign

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 5:11 pm    Post subject: Melee combat against Stormtroopers Reply with quote

Okay, I'm new to SW D6 and D6 at all. Maybe that's the reason I'm unsure how to handle this:
The players character has spottet 2 Stormtroopers on his escape way in 20 meters distance. The Stormtroppers have seen the character too.
Because the players character is good at melee combat the player would like to run to the troopers and attack them with his electrostaff to knock them out with stun mode.

In terms of D6 the players character has the initiative and declares 3 actions for this round: run to the Stormtroopers, attack the first and attack the second.

Well and here is the problem. After the players characters first action he is in melee combat range, but then it's the Troopers turn. And because the players character was running to them, they can fire their blasters on point-blank. It's always deadly for the players character.

So the question is, how can the players character come close to the Stormtroopers to knock them out without he will be killed first?
I'm not talking about to sneak to the Troopers but about the rules of the combat system.
As an example, on Shadowrun we had the rule, long range weapons can't be used on close (melee) combat.

Kind regards
from Purzelkater
Whill
Dark Lord of the Jedi (Owner/Admin)

Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy