The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

A Few New Player Questions
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Official Rules -> A Few New Player Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
yomama360
Cadet
Cadet

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 2:20 pm    Post subject: A Few New Player Questions Reply with quote

Getting back into this game after about a 25 year hiatus. Thank you for these forums. I'm very much liking all I have been reading on this site. Thank you all for keeping this going and providing so much useful content.

I have a few noobish questions I couldn't find a clear answer for. (ps, I had only played a few times back in the day, so I'm still new in that regard too).

- - - Consumables - - -
Anyone know the exact break down for cost of food vs fuel, vs water, vs maintenance etc..

The book says “restocking fee” is a Base Fee (usually 10 credits) x total crew and passenger capacity x days worth of consumables to be renewed.

I know this gets away from the thematics, but what if the PC party just camped out on some moon for a week. Not wasting fuel, but still eating food. They couldn't be expected to pay full price on the restocking fee. Conversely a PC flying alone in a larger passenger ship for a week shouldn't have to pay for food that wasn't eaten. And wouldn't an empty cargo ship waste less fuel? Or does nobody want to do that much bookkeeping.

The general goods sections lists 1 liter of fuel as 50 credits and 1 kg of (common) food as 10 credits.
According to the restocking fees listed, a crew of 3 flying for 3 days would only cost 90 credits to restock. What, did they use only a gram of fuel? Super ultra discount on the food? Restocking seems way too cheap. There's obviously something I'm missing.