The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

Zulgyan's Newbie SW 1E Questions
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> First Edition / Introductory -> Zulgyan's Newbie SW 1E Questions Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bren
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral


Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 3472
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wajeb Deb Kaadeb wrote:
OTOH, if you want to use Initiative, then do it. As I said before, the 2E Initiative System is to simply roll PER. The character with the highest roll goes first on every segment.
That's not quite how Initiative works in 2E. The GM divides the group into sides. Often there are only two sides, but there might be more. Only the person with the highest Perception on each side rolls, not every person and the highest Perception roll determines whether their entire side acts first or last. From page 28 of the 2E rules:
Quote:
Step One: Initiative
Each side picks the character with the highest Perception,
who then rolls a Perception attribute check. Characters may
not spend Character Points or Force Points on this roll, al-
though penalties for being wounded count (see Section 3.1.
"Combat and Injuries" for an explanation of how wounds affect
characters).

Whichever side gets the highest roll gets to decide who
declares and acts first in ihe round — their side or the enemy.

In the case of more than two sides, the highest roll declares
whether they want to go first or last, if they decide to go first,
they would do so, followed by the middle roller, followed by
the lowest rolling side. It they decide to go last, just reverse the
order


The advantage to going first is your first action occurs before those of the other side(s). The advantage to going last is you know what action(s) everyone on the other side(s) is taking before you declare any of your action(s). So, for example, you would know whether anyone was targeting you so you would know whether you needed to dodge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wajeb Deb Kaadeb
Captain
Captain


Joined: 07 Apr 2017
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you are correct. I was thinking of how we played initiative. It was a straight PER roll for each character. Individual initiative.

I described it correctly earlier.

I use 1E initiative so much that I forget how 2E was done, sometimes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garhkal
Grand Moff
Grand Moff


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 10964
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, ohio.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wajeb Deb Kaadeb wrote:
garhkal wrote:
If you have 20 enemies, each with say 5d to hit, put 5d (inc a wild) in each slot.


Just a note: He's playing 1E! No Wild Die! Shocked


True, but that suggestion works for any of the 3 WEG editions!!

Quote:
The advantage to going first is your first action occurs before those of the other side(s). The advantage to going last is you know what action(s) everyone on the other side(s) is taking before you declare any of your action(s). So, for example, you would know whether anyone was targeting you so you would know whether you needed to dodge.


Plus when going 2nd (or last), as you have not 'declared your # of actions" your dodge/parry is not affected by any Multiple action penalties![/quote]
_________________
It's Not who you kill, but how they die!
You cannot dodge it if you do not know it is coming, and you cannot hit it if you do not know its there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wajeb Deb Kaadeb
Captain
Captain


Joined: 07 Apr 2017
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

garhkal wrote:
Plus when going 2nd (or last), as you have not 'declared your # of actions" your dodge/parry is not affected by any Multiple action penalties!
[/quote]

In 1E (well, in the 1E core rulebook--it changed in the Rules Companion) you don't have to declare reactions! Not even if you go first!

I like it better that way, too. You just use a Dodge or Brawling/Melee Parry when you are attacked. Otherwise, you don't worry about it.

Sometimes you want to risk it so that you don't take penalties for a later action. You might not take a Dodge, for example, hoping that your foe still misses, if it is important that you make your upcoming blaster shot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garhkal
Grand Moff
Grand Moff


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 10964
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, ohio.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So how do you know how many actions you are going to take??
_________________
It's Not who you kill, but how they die!
You cannot dodge it if you do not know it is coming, and you cannot hit it if you do not know its there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bren
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral


Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 3472
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

garhkal wrote:
So how do you know how many actions you are going to take??
You declare actions. But in 1E, Dodge, Melee Parry, and Brawling Parry are all reactions. In 1E you don't have to declare reactions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wajeb Deb Kaadeb
Captain
Captain


Joined: 07 Apr 2017
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bren wrote:
garhkal wrote:
So how do you know how many actions you are going to take??
You declare actions. But in 1E, Dodge, Melee Parry, and Brawling Parry are all reactions. In 1E you don't have to declare reactions.


Yep. And, they're thrown as you would Full Reactions in 2E.

For clarity, I just wrote a new example of 1E Initiative in its own thread.

I really do like it much more than I like 2E's method. The 1E system just flows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zulgyan
Lieutenant
Lieutenant


Joined: 09 May 2017
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some quick questions:

Control Pain: If your are wounded and roll a 5, you don't get the -1D to all rolls. Do you need to "keep up" this power in subsequent rounds? That would be quite self defeating, since "keeping up" is considered a skill use, and therefor imposes -1D an all rolls.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wajeb Deb Kaadeb
Captain
Captain


Joined: 07 Apr 2017
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zulgyan wrote:
Some quick questions:

Control Pain: If your are wounded and roll a 5, you don't get the -1D to all rolls. Do you need to "keep up" this power in subsequent rounds? That would be quite self defeating, since "keeping up" is considered a skill use, and therefor imposes -1D an all rolls.


You've got that right, and that's how it is played in the later editions, too.

Control Pain can be used to ignore wound effects for one round. If successful, the character acts with no penalty.

If Control Pain is kept up, the character must concentrate the Force on it, which can be distracting to other tasks, and thus suffers the -1D multiple action penalty when doing another action.







NOTE: The Control Pain effect happens on the round after the Force Power is used.

Round 1: Character was wounded previously. Control Pain power is used. Use a -1D penalty for the wound.

Round 2: Character is now under the effect of Control Pain for this round only. So, he acts as if not wounded. There is no multi-action penalty since the power was used last round (and effect happens this round).

Round 3: Control Pain no longer in effect. Character is now considered wounded again.





If the Force user doesn't want to keep the Control Pain power "up," then, when he acts, he must use the power and wait until the next round for the effect to kick in, where he will be penalty free from the wound for that one round.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
garhkal
Grand Moff
Grand Moff


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 10964
Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, ohio.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zulgyan wrote:
Some quick questions:

Control Pain: If your are wounded and roll a 5, you don't get the -1D to all rolls. Do you need to "keep up" this power in subsequent rounds? That would be quite self defeating, since "keeping up" is considered a skill use, and therefor imposes -1D an all rolls.


IMO control pain on a wound is pointless CAUSE of its being needed to be kept up. However at wounded twice or ko'ed, its a great way to stay in the fight.

THAT SAID, i do allow someone who pops off control pain in the SAME ROUND he's wounded, to ignore the whole "Once wounded you lose all actions in that round" thing..
_________________
It's Not who you kill, but how they die!
You cannot dodge it if you do not know it is coming, and you cannot hit it if you do not know its there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wajeb Deb Kaadeb
Captain
Captain


Joined: 07 Apr 2017
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

garhkal wrote:
IMO control pain on a wound is pointless CAUSE of its being needed to be kept up. However at wounded twice or ko'ed, its a great way to stay in the fight.


Just FYI, there is no "Wounded Twice" category in 1E.



Quote:
THAT SAID, i do allow someone who pops off control pain in the SAME ROUND he's wounded, to ignore the whole "Once wounded you lose all actions in that round" thing..


I wouldn't. I'd play it rules as written. Concentrate now, benefit from it next round. That simulates the pain of the wound slowly leaving your body over a 5 second span of time.

You fight through the pain (taking the -1D penalty for the Wound) to roll your Control dice, and if you are successful, the pain slowly evaporates--for just a few seconds, but enough time to do whatever you need to do--then it comes back.

As far as keeping the power up, the effort needed to keep it up is as distracting as that of the wound. So, it's a no joy situation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> First Edition / Introductory All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Page 7 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


v2.0